Sierra Vista Employees Honored for Service 
Shannon Downing & Ron Yukelson 
Wednesday, 12 May 2010 

Dozens of Sierra Vista employees were honored during the annual National Nurses & Hospital Week Celebration held at the hospital.

The 2010 Sierra Vista Leadership Awards went to Judy Taylor, a physical therapist and Christina Newsom, unit secretary on the Critical Care Unit. Both were cited for exemplifying leadership qualities and behavior work that motivates others; demonstrating self-confidence; finding creative solutions; demonstrating good communication skills; the ability to inspire others; a desire to lead; ability to make decisions; and, for having a positive influence on others.

“These employees exemplified the ability to identify a problem and find a solution while motivating and inspiring others around them,” said Candy Markwith, Sierra Vista’s Chief Executive Officer.

Janette Jones, RN (Emergency Department), Barbara Pruitt, RN (Medical/Surgical Unit) and Ruth Tonkin, RN (Recovery) were honored for 40 years of service at Sierra Vista, now in its 50th year of operation. In all, 113 other employees were recognized for years of service ranging from five to 35.

Sue Fortier, RN (Trauma Manager), was honored for her selection as a 2010 Tenet Hero, for her work educating local college and high school students on the dangers of driving while intoxicated and responsible drinking. Fortier’s recognition was announced last month at the annual Tenet Strategy Conference held in Dallas.

Elaine Jacobs, RN was honored as Nurse of the Year at Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center.  Jacobs, a Charge Nurse in the Medical Surgical Unit, was selected among more than 200 nominations from the nursing staff. As a charge nurse, Jacobs manages the delivery of patient care and serves as a resource to staff throughout the hospital.

Other nurses recognized include:

Clinical Practice Award:                       Ruth Tonkin (Recovery)

Mentoring/Teaching Award:                  Lisa Karamatic-Shaner (Float Pool)

Mentoring/Teaching Award:                  Kim Little (Step Down Unit)

Patient Advocate Award:                      Anne Reposa (Pediatric Unit)

Professionalism Award:                        Penny Whittaker (Labor & Delivery Unit)

Rookie of the Year:                              Kacie Peacock (Surgery)