Sierra Vista Honors Outstanding Employees 
Monday, 06 June 2011 

The annual Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center service awards celebration brought together more than 100 hospital employees, recognized for their dedication and outstanding leadership.   The 2011 Sierra Vista Leader of the Year award went to Ron Edman (Pharmacy) for his ability to find solutions, communicate effectively and exude a positive influence over his peers.

Other employees recognized include:

Colleague of the Year:            Shannon Downing (Public Relations)

Co-Worker of the Year:           Sharon Allen (Step Down Unit)

Mentor:                                  Guen Artman (Patient Access)

Innovator:                               Rick Ford (Plant Operations)

Patient Advocate:                   Maria Wood (Radiology)

Two Sierra Vista nurses were selected for the 2011 Tenet Hero Award. Pam Pall, RN (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit), was recognized for her commitment to a healthy lifestyle and inspiring those around her to do the same. She successfully launched a Sierra Vista Weight Watchers group, which to date has lost more than 900 pounds.  Deepali Kenjale, RN (Step Down Unit), was honored for the work she does to help those less fortunate in India. She works full-time not so that she can make a better life for herself, but to better the lives of those in need.

Kim Patrick-Miernicki was honored for her 40 years of service at Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center. Kim began her career at Sierra Vista in 1970 as a ward clerk and since that time has worn many hats around the hospital. In 1989, she worked 12 night shifts in a row to represent the hospital during the filming of Midnight Ride starring Mark Hamill, Robert Mitchum and Michael Dudikoff.

Beth Johnson, RN was honored as Nurse of the Year at Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center during the recent National Nurses’ Week celebration. Johnson, a relief charge nurse in the intensive care unit, was selected among more than 100 nominations from the nursing staff. During her time in the ICU, she has assisted in program development of open heart surgery, writing policies and procedures, and educating new staff on the cardiac program.  

Other nurses recognized include:

Clinical Practice Award:                      Christie Muller (Labor & Delivery

Mentoring/Teaching Award:                 Lora Hall (Pediatrics)

Career Advancement:                         Marina Amaral (Surgical Services)

Patient Advocate Award:                     Michelle Castellaneta (Emergency)

Professionalism Award:                      Connie Malek (House Supervision)

Rookie of the Year:                             Kim Gray (Medical/Surgical)